2014 Print Award Winners L-R Marcelle Hanselaar, Ellen Heck, Trevor Banthorpe & Julie Roch-Cuerrier Image: Colin Davison

Northern Print

Hatton Gallery

IPB 2014 Print Awards

As the centepiece of the International Print Biennale, the 2014 Print Awards celebrates the best of current printmaking.

IPB 2014 Vox Pops Small from Northern Print on Vimeo.

The exhibition brings together a shortlist of 37 international artists, selected from a submission of 740 artists from across 42 different countries. The acclaimed selection panel of Stephen Coppel. Modern Prints and Drawings, British Museum; David Nash RA, artist and Susan Tallman, Editor–in-Chief, Art in Print, Chicago, USA have also specially invited a three further artists, Jane Kent, Keith Coventry and Bedwyr Williams, to exhibit their work.

The diverse works, by a mixture of both emerging and established artists, reflect the quality of the submission this year. The exhibitions offer visitors a unique glimpse into a spectrum of contemporary printmaking from across the globe. The shortlisted works will be on display at Hatton Gallery and Northern Print for free from 27 June - 9 August 2014. The winners were announced on 27 June 2014 and you can read about them HERE.

Artists showing at Northern Print:

Mike Ainsworth
Jim Berggren
Annie Bissett
Marcelle Hanselaar (Winner)
Ellen Heck (Winner)
Anthony Kirk
Jacky Longstaff

Northern Print
Stepney Bank
Newcastle upon Tyne

Open: Wed - Sat, 12pm - 4pm
(or by appointment)
Artists showing at Hatton Gallery:
Keith Coventry (Invited artist)
Jane Kent  (Invited artist)
Bedwyr Williams (Invited artist)
Trevor Abbott
Tony Amenero
Ann Aspinwall
Anda Auzina
Trevor Banthorpe (Winner)
Xavier Blondeau
Jess Bugler
Carolyn Bunt
Victoria Burge
Scott Campbell
Susanna Castleden
Kraisak Chirachaisakul
Pamela Clarkson and Atta Kwami
Esmé Clutterbuck
Eli Diner
Milos Djordjevic
Jason File
Richard Forster
Susie Hamilton
Daniel Hosego
Emma Hunter
Robin Jung-Hun Kang
Alison Lambert
Gesa Puell
Ross Racine
Julie Roch-Cuerrier (Winner)
Robert & Roberta Smith (Winner)
Jane Stobart
Ewelina Szydelko
Carolyn Thompson
Hatton Gallery
Newcastle University
King's Road
Newcastle upon Tyne
Open Mon - Sat, 10am - 5pm



Sign up to our newsletter

Get all the latest news about events, exhibitions, activities and prints.